How can I Play?

Local clubs have junior and senior Rugby League competitions for Girls and Women all around the country. Find your local club by using the Locator.

Different regions offer contact (Rugby League – Tackle) and Non – Contact (League Tag) + NRL Touch Football across Australia.

League Tag is a non – contact form of Rugby League using tags that stick onto shorts or belts instead of tackling. Registrations for League Tag are through your local club.

Rugby League (Tackle) and League Tag are played within the following structures:

Mini Footy + Mod League (6 – 12 Years):

  • Mini footy (ages 6 – 8) and is for both boys and girls and is focused on meeting the needs of younger children. It focuses on involvement and encouraging learning through play without the pressure of sticking to the strict laws of the adult game.
  • Mod League is for both girls and boys and is focused on the 9-12 year age group, when the demands of adult football are still too much, but the simpler Mini Footy is not challenging enough.
  • Modified rules all under the NRL safe play code provide girls a fun, safe environment to play footy.

More information can be found here on the specific rules and structures of Mini/Mod leagues.

Junior Rugby League (13 – 17 years)

  • Girls will play in girl – only teams through their local Junior Rugby League Club.
  • Different regions offer different age groups from ages 13+.

Senior Women (Ages 17+)

  • Senior Women’s competitions are played throughout Australia with major competitions in Sydney and Brisbane.

For more information on how to play – contact your State based Female Participation Coordinator.

Contact Details are below:

NSW – Melissa Vayro

0411 159 423

QLD – Keeown Rawnsley

0417 200 182


The pinnacle of Women’s Rugby League is to represent the Australian Jillaroos.

Australian Jillaroos:

The Australian Jillaroos team is coached by Steven Folkes and are the current World Champions. Aside from the World Cup, the team plays in Test matches regularly predominantly against New Zealand and also feature at the Dick Smith Auckland 9s.

A panel of National Selectors select the squad and the following tournaments/matches act as selection trials:

  • Interstate Challenge (NSW vs QLD)
  • Affiliated States Championships (VIC, SA, WA, NT)
  • NRL All Stars

Interstate Challenge:

The Interstate challenge is the female version of State of Origin. One match is played to determine the premier State. The match is usually played in June or July.

Players are selected from local club and schools Rugby League in each State (+ ACT) for the Interstate Challenge.

Affiliated States Championship:

2015 will see a Women’s tackle component added to the Affiliated States Championship which will act as a selection trial for the Australian Jillaroos Squad for players residing outside NSW/ACT/QLD. Held in Darwin on the 4th – 7th June 2015, players will represent their State over the weekend.

All Stars vs Indigenous All Stars

In 2015, the Women’s All Stars vs Indigenous All Stars played the curtain raiser to the Men’s match in front of a large crowd on the Gold Coast. This match provides a further representative opportunity for the female calendar.